- Osvaldo Godoy
One fatality every 32 hours from hit-and-run crashes in Florida
Car accidents are a leading cause of fatalities both in the U.S. and worldwide. But, within this category, hit-and-runs are particularly concerning.
In Florida, hit-and-run crashes accounted for one in every four traffic accidents in 2022, resulting in one fatality every 32 hours, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
As defined by James Choban, an instructor from the Palm Beach Safety Council, a hit-and-run happens when “somebody is involved in an accident and they leave the scene without giving information either to the police or to the other driver.”
The consequences of this type of action could result in severe legal penalties depending on property damage, injuries and/or fatalities caused. According to the Lorenzo & Lorenzo law firm, a hit-and-run crash causing property damages is considered a second-degree misdemeanor that could earn up to 60 days in prison, plus a $500 fine.
More severely, a hit-and-run crash that injures the other driver could be considered either a second or third-degree felony, with the driver’s license revoked for a minimum of three years, a five-year maximum prison sentence and a $5,000 fine.
If you are a victim of a hit-and-run, Choban advises you to call 911 immediately
“It is not just the law – It is the right thing to do,” Choban said.
If there are witnesses in the area, try to get their contact information. At a later time, you will need to contact your insurance company to find out who is responsible for the payment of the vehicle.
By Osvaldo Godoy